First Wednesday of Lent/Feb 25

Matthew 6:9-13 (KJV)

“Our Father, Who art in Heaven, Hallowed be Thy Name. Thy Kingdom Come, Thy will be done, on earth as it is in Heaven. Give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil, for Thine is the kingdom, and the power and the glory forever and ever. Amen.”

 

Sometimes it helps to begin or end our prayer time by reading the Lord’s prayer. I’ve gotten in the habit of beginning each day with this.  At the end of a long day, this prayer can help us connect simply with God’s Spirit. As we read, we might ask God what he has to show us in it.  This model prayer helps me feel one with all other Christians around the world, today and over the centuries. The references to “our Father,” and “our trespasses,” help me see that I am not the center of the universe, nor am I an island unto myself. My life has an impact on those around me, and I’d like it to be a reflection of Christ in me. I can’t do that in my own strength. In the phrase “our daily bread,” I might see God as My Provider, and reflect for a moment on what it is I’m most hungry for. Are there ways I’ve tried to satisfy that hunger without depending on him? I might reflect on how has he met me and provided for me today, and give thanks for that. These could all be conversation points in my time with God as I close my day.

 

Today’s Prayer Practice: Conversational Prayer

 

What does God have for you today in this model prayer? Does anything stand out to you? What’s the state of his kingdom in your heart? What in this prayer helps you most in the challenges you face today? That he is your provider? That he forgives you? That he protects you and gives your strength? Talk to God about what you need and how you might help further his kingdom today, in the world and in your heart. End by reading this prayer as your own.

 

This entry was posted in God, prayer, spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

