Finding my way back

jpgI just discovered I haven’t written since July. I didn’t know it had been that long since I checked in. For a few months, I’ve been checked out. Ever since the election, I’ve hardly been able to watch or read the news. I was so disheartened, I had withdrawn from all forms of media, including and especially social media. I got so weary of people on both sides of the great divide condemning and criticizing the other side with no attempt to listen, learn or connect. It’s felt like a death of things I thought the majority of us held dear. Things like civil discourse, freedom and equality, regardless of one’s gender, race, religion or sexual orientation, caring for the earth, right on up to liberty and justice for all. We do still value that, right? Today, on the day we remember Martin Luther King, Jr. and all he stood for, I realized that even though I’ve been disheartened by the direction our country seems to be headed, I don’t want to give up my voice. I want to engage again, and connect with and learn from those who voted and feel differently from me. Hopefully in a way that keeps communication open. And so I will continue to write about the things that matter most, especially now. Things like love, joy, peace, kindness, faithfulness, gentleness, humility, goodness and self governance. Things that are in short supply everywhere I look. But it can begin with you and me, right? We truly can be the change we want to see in the world. And by doing so, we can hold that space for others, not by retorting or retaliating, but by following the Way of Love. As MLK Jr. said,

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.”

Amen. May it be so in us this day.

This entry was posted in listen, Love, voice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

